The AIUM Announces the New Leaders

Feb 8, 2021

LAUREL, MD - Members of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) have elected a new slate of leaders to the Executive Committee, Board of Governors, and Communities. These leaders will work to support the AIUM’s mission of advancing the safe and effective use of medical ultrasound.

The AIUM congratulates these individuals and looks forward to their contributions to the future of medical ultrasound. These leaders will assume their elected offices on April 14, 2021, following the conclusion of the AIUM’s Annual Meeting.

Executive Committee

President-Elect  Richard Hoppmann, MD, FACP, FAIUM
Second Vice President  Jean Lea Spitz, MPH, CAE, RDMS
Secretary  David Jones, MD, FACOG, FAIUM
Third Vice President  Irene Ma, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FACP, RDMS, RDCS

Board of Governors
  • Srikar Adhikari, MD, MS, FAIUM

  • Jeremy Dahl, PhD

  • Yuko Kono, MD, PhD, FAIUM, FAASLD

  • Robert Monaco, MD, MPH, RMSK

  • Anthony Edward Samir, MD, MPH, FAIUM

  • Linda Zanin, EdD, RDMS

Community Secretaries
Contrast-Enhanced Ultrasound  Flemming Forsberg, PhD, FAIUM, FAIMBE
High-Frequency Clinical and Preclinical Imaging  Corinne E. Wessner, BS, RDMS, RVT
Interventional-Intraoperative Ultrasound  Sasan Partovi, MD
Musculoskeletal Ultrasound  Daniel Bavo Nissman, MD, MPH, MSEE
Neurosonology  Vijetha Vinod Maller, MD
Pediatric Ultrasound  Monica Epelman, MD
Sonography  Carrie Bowen, RDMS, RDCS
Urology  Robert Alan Mevorach, MD, FSPU, FAAP

Biographical information for all new leaders is available upon request.

About AIUM

The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine is a multidisciplinary medical association of more than 9,000 physicians, sonographers, scientists, students, and other healthcare professionals. Established in the early 1950s, AIUM is dedicated to empowering and cultivating a global multidisciplinary community engaged in the use of medical ultrasound through raising awareness, education, sharing information, and research.