AIUM Will Honor Recipients for Their Accomplishments in Medical Ultrasound at the 2013 Annual Convention

Mar 27, 2013

LAUREL, MARYLAND - During the opening session of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) 2013 Annual Convention at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York, New York, on April 7, 2013, AIUM President Alfred Z. Abuhamad, MD, will present awards to individuals who have significantly contributed to the growth and development of medical ultrasound. The exceptional achievements and immeasurable contributions of the following recipients warrant recognition.

The William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award recognizes one who has significantly contributed in his or her particular field to the scientific progress of medical ultrasound. This award will be presented to Paul L. Carson, PhD, who is currently the holder of 10 patents, is an active member of a wide variety of associations, and has a passion for advancing medical ultrasound shown through the various dissertations and masters’ theses and projects he has supervised. He has mentored many postdoctoral fellows and has written hundreds of journal articles, books and chapters, monographs, abstracts, and related communications.

The Joseph H Holmes Pioneer Awards will be presented to Peter H. Arger, MD, for clinical science and Christy K. Holland, PhD, for basic science. Dr Arger implemented many initiatives that were created during his tenure as president of the AIUM from 1995 to 1997. He carried out many tasks during his presidency while serving as professor of radiology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, where he is now emeritus professor of radiology and concentrating on ultrasound research and ultrasound training for residents. Dr Holland has a history of reviewing manuscripts for 9 peer-reviewed journals, is currently engaged in 8 separate research projects, and has more than 85 publications to her credit.

Marsha Neumyer, BS, RVT, will be honored with the Distinguished Sonographer Award. She is currently chief executive officer and international director of Vascular Diagnostic Educational Services. Ms Neumyer has received numerous awards and is actively involved in several committees addressing issues of education, training, bioeffects, risk management, and practice guidelines.

The Honorary Fellow Award bestows an honorary membership to those individuals who have contributed significantly to the field of ultrasound. Paul A. Dubbins, MBBS, BSc, FRCR, will be presented with this award. He is a member of numerous distinguished societies, a reviewer for multiple peer-reviewed journals, and a well-published author, with more than 60 articles and 30 book chapters. A clinician with exceptional teaching skills, including 2 years as assistant professor in the Division of Diagnostic Ultrasound at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital and decades of experience as a course organizer, Dr Dubbins has lectured worldwide on ultrasound and has developed and led hands-on training courses in Nepal and India.

Photographs and biographies are available for each honoree. Contact Danielle Tyler,

About AIUM

The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine is a multidisciplinary medical association of more than 9,000 physicians, sonographers, scientists, students, and other healthcare professionals. Established in the early 1950s, AIUM is dedicated to empowering and cultivating a global multidisciplinary community engaged in the use of medical ultrasound through raising awareness, education, sharing information, and research.