Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Award-Clinical

In 1977, the Pioneer Award, which honored an individual who significantly contributed to the growth and development of diagnostic ultrasound, was established. This special award was renamed in 1982, to honor Joseph H. Holmes, MD, who died that year. Dr. Holmes, the first person named as an AIUM pioneer, was an important figure to both the field of diagnostic ultrasound and the AIUM. His early efforts in ultrasound research, which included tissue characterization and ultrasound's diagnostic use in polycystic kidney disease and orthopedics, helped to advance the field of ultrasound and encourage others to conduct new research. Serving the AIUM in many capacities, Dr. Holmes was president from 1968 to 1970, and was editor of the AIUM's official journal, which was then titled, the Journal of Clinical Ultrasound, for nearly 10 years. Each year the Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Award honors two current or retired AIUM members, one in clinical science and the other in basic science.

2016 Alfred Z. Abuhamad, MD, FAIUM
2015 Peter W. Callen, MD, FAIUM
2014 Greggory R. DeVore, MD, FACOG, FAIUM
2013 Peter H. Arger, MD, FAIUM, FACR
2012 Stephanie R. Wilson, MD
2011 Charles S. Kleinman, MD
2010 Ilan E. Timor-Tritsch, MD, FAIUM
2009 Lawrence D. Platt, MD, FAIUM
2008 Beryl R. Benacerraf, MD, FAIUM
2007 Jonathan Matthews Rubin, MD, PhD, FAIUM
2006 David J. Sahn, MD, FAIUM
2005 Barbara B. Gosink, MD
2004 Roy A. Filly, MD, FAIUM
2003 Edward A. Lyons, MD, OC, FRCPC, FACR
2002 William M. McKinney, MD, FAIUM
2001 Roger C. Sanders, MD, FAIUM
2000 Bernard Sigel, MD
1999 Fred Winsberg, MD
1998 George R. Leopold, MD, FAIUM
1997 D. Jackson Coleman, MD, FACS, FARVO
1996 Michael L. Manco-Johnson, MD
1995 Atis K. Freimanis, MD, FAIUM
1994 Donald W. King, MD
1993 Denis N. White, MD
1992 Barry Benson Goldberg, MD, FAIUM
1991 Horace E. Thompson, MD, FAIUM
1990 Gilbert Baum, MD, FAIUM
1988 John C. Hobbins, MD, FAIUM
1986 Raymond Gramiak, MD
1980 Carrie Chapman, MD
1979 John M. Reid, MD
1978 John J. Wild, MA, MD, PhD, FAIUM (hon)
1977 Joseph H. Holmes, MD