Annual Convention Committee

Brian Douglas Coley, MD, FAIUM, FSRU, FACR, FAAP, Co-Chair

Joan M. Mastrobattista, MD, FACOG, FAIUM, Co-Chair

The Annual Convention Committee (ACC) establishes and, in association with the office staff and the AIUM's communities and interest groups, organizes and conducts effective scientific and educational meetings. The ACC also works with the Ad Hoc Continuing Medical Education Committee to develop convention programs that meet the scientific, educational, and professional needs of the AIUM membership.

Bioeffects Committee

Keith A. Wear, PhD, FAIUM, Chair

Kenneth Bryan Bader, PhD, Vice Chair

The Bioeffects Committee provides information to the AIUM membership on matters relating to the biological effects of ultrasound, especially when these matters relate to the safety of clinical ultrasound. A primary responsibility is to evaluate research reports on biological effects. In addition to the elected AIUM members, this committee includes resource members from federal agencies and external organizations.

Clinical Standards Committee

James M. Shwayder, MD, JD, FAIUM, Chair

Rachel Bo-ming Liu, MD, FACEP FAIUM, Vice Chair

The Clinical Standards Committee promotes the writing and review of standards and guidelines for sonographic examinations. The committee produces and supports the development of technical bulletins, monographs, and other scientific and informational resources for the AIUM membership and other health care professionals. The composition of the committee may include representation from other AIUM committees and/or organizations, as needed, for developing joint guidelines. Representation has traditionally been from (but not limited to) the Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council, the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG), the American College of Radiology (ACR), and the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (SDMS).

Constitution Committee

J. Brian Fowlkes, PhD, FAIUM, Chair

The Constitution Committee bears continuing responsibility for resolving internal contradictions in the Constitution and updating the Constitution to fit with proposed practices of the AIUM.

Council of Communities

Community and Interest Group Leadership

David C. Jones, MD, FAIUM, Chair

Communities and interest groups include all AIUM members with an interest in a particular ultrasound application, specialty area, or topic. AIUM members may affiliate with as many communities and interest groups as they choose.

The AIUM's community/interest-group leadership teams play a significant role in the AIUM's educational efforts, including, but not limited to:

  • Choosing course topics for UltraCon
  • Identifying speakers
  • Leading discussions and activities on Connect
  • Assigning abstract review teams
  • Designating moderators
  • Identifying webinar topics and speakers
  • Submitting/recommending case challenges
  • Providing/recommending blog posts
  • Serving as a resource as the AIUM develops new products, services, and opportunities

Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Coding Ad Hoc Committee

James M. Shwayder, MD, JD, FAIUM, Chair

The CPT Coding Ad Hoc Committee assesses and evaluates the relevance of new and revised ultrasound CPT codes to ensure that codes accurately and uniformly describe the medical, surgical, and diagnostic services in all aspects related to ultrasound. This ad hoc committee is responsible for communicating recommendations regarding the codes to the CPT appointing authority.

Editorial Board of the Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine

Richard G. Barr, MD, PhD, FAIUM, FSRU, FACR, Editor in Chief
Michael Blaivas, MD, MBA, FAIUM, FACEP, Deputy Editor
Mark E. Lockhart, MD, MPH, FAIUM, Deputy Editor
Andrej Lyshchik, MD, PhD, FAIUM, Deputy Editor
Flemming Forsberg, PhD, FAIUM, FAIMBE, Deputy Editor

Wesley Lee, MD, FAIUM, Deputy Editor

The Editorial Board bears the responsibility for preparing, in a timely manner, the editorial content of the official journal for the AIUM, the Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine. The Board encourages member participation and readership by producing a publication of the highest possible scientific quality.

Finance Committee

John Stephen Pellerito, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU, Chair

The purpose of the AIUM Finance Committee is to review details of the annual budget, financial statements, and investments and submit recommendations to the Executive Committee and Board of Governors for approval.

Membership Committee

Luis A. Izquierdo, MD, MBA, CPE, FAIUM, Chair

The AIUM Membership Committee oversees and manages the Fellow member elevation process, provides input for membership recruitment and retention, and makes membership-related recommendations to the Board of Governors.

Presidential Advisory Council

Levon N. Nazarian, MD, FAIUM, FACR, FSRU, Chair

AIUM Past Presidents compose the Presidential Advisory Council. The members of the council work to support the AIUM's mission by providing their guidance, support, and resources to the current AIUM President and President-Elect.

Technical Standards Committee

Oliver Daniel Kripfgans, PhD, FAIUM, Chair

Ted Lynch, PhD, FAIUM, Vice Chair

The Technical Standards Committee develops, where appropriate, standardized approaches to instrument performance measurements and other aspects of medical ultrasound, including presentation and labeling, phantoms, and nomenclature. The committee provides reviews of documents, manuals, and standards produced by other organizations, government bodies, and individuals, especially as these documents relate to the physics, engineering, performance testing, and clinical use of ultrasound equipment. It also maintains liaisons with other organizations developing standards for ultrasound equipment.

Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council

Anita Jeanne Moon-Grady, MD, FAAP, FACC, FASE, FAIUM, Chair

Mederic M. Hall, MD, Vice Chair

The mission of the Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council is to encourage the practice of high quality diagnostic ultrasound. It seeks to maintain a leadership role in addressing concerns for quality ultrasound practice, establish standards for accreditation based on the professional criteria of ultrasound practitioners, recognize ultrasound practices that meet or exceed established minimum criteria, and promote and support continued improvement in diagnostic ultrasound.