Meet the 2017 AIUM Award Winners

Award Winners

Stephanie R. Wilson, MD—William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award

Alfred B. Kurtz, MD, FAIUM—Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award

Levon N. Nazarian, MD, FAIUM, FACR—Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award

Kai E. Thomenius, PhD, FAIUM—Joseph H. Holmes Basic Science Pioneer Award

Charlotte Henningsen, MS, RT(R), RDMS, RVT, FSDMS, FAIUM—Distinguished Sonographer Award

John S. Pellerito, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU—Peter H. Arger, MD Excellence in Medical Student Education Award

Lennard D. Greenbaum, MD—Carmine M. Valente, PhD, CAE Distinguished Service Award

Caterina Exacoustos, MD—AIUM Honorary Fellow

Gustavo Malinger, MD—AIUM Honorary Fellow

Carlo Martinoli, MD—AIUM Honorary Fellow

E-Poster Winners

At each AIUM Annual Convention, hundreds of scientists and clinicians submit their novel and often groundbreaking research in an e-poster format that is evaluated in a two-step process by specialty experts. From the many submissions, first-, second-, and third-place winners are identified, along with any honorable mentions. Their work may lead to state-of-the-art changes in the practice of medical ultrasound. They are the ones to watch!

First place: Ultrasound-Stimulated Drug Delivery of Reconstituted High-Density Lipoprotein Nanoparticles Loaded With an Optical Reporter, presented by Kenneth Hoyt from Richardson, Texas

Second place: First-Trimester Echocardiographic Findings in Women With Chronic Hypertension and Superimposed Preeclampsia, presented by Jennifer Barr from Amherst, New York

Third place: Ultrasound Evaluation of Bursae: Anatomy and Pathologic Appearances, presented by Thumanoon Ruangchaijatuporn from Yasothon, Thailand

Honorable Mention: Implementation of an Ultrasound Interest Group Research Initiative to Improve Productivity of Student Involvement in Research, presented by Malik Sams from Columbus, Ohio

New Investigators

Young, Creative, Innovative, and Dedicated—these are just some of the words that can be used to describe the up-and-coming ultrasound professionals who present their research during a special New Investigator Session at each AIUM Annual Convention. The breadth and depth of the research being conducted in ultrasound by these emerging talents bodes well for the future of patient care. Each year, winners and honorable mentions are chosen in both the basic science and clinical categories.

Basic Science

Winner—Tommaso Di Ianni, MSc, for "In Vivo Vector Flow Imaging for a Portable Ultrasound Scanner"

Honorable Mention—Carolina Amador, PhD, for "Work-Related Repetitive-Use Injuries in Ultrasound Fellow"

Clinical Ultrasound

Winner—Lourdes Hereter, MD, for "Ultrasound Assessment of Changes in the Pelvic Hiatal Area Before and After Childbirth"

Honorable Mention—Kristine Robinson, MD, for "Renal Transplant Viscoelasticity as a Predictor of Allograft Rejection: A Feasibility Study With a Clinical Ultrasound Scanner"


© American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine | 14750 Sweitzer Lane, Suite 100 · Laurel, MD 20707 | Phone: 301-498-4100