Annual Convention Committee

Brian Coley, MD, FAIUM, Chair
Bryann Bromley, MD, FAIUM, Vice Chair

The Annual Convention Committee (ACC) establishes and, in association with the office staff and the AIUM's communities and interest groups, organizes and conducts effective scientific and educational meetings. The ACC also works with the Ad Hoc Continuing Medical Education Committee to develop convention programs that meet the scientific, educational, and professional needs of the AIUM membership.

Bioeffects Committee

Jean Lea Spitz, MPH, CAE, RDMS, FAIUM, FSDMS, Chair
Diane Dalecki, PhD, FAIUM, Vice Chair

The Bioeffects Committee provides information to the AIUM membership on matters relating to the biological effects of ultrasound, especially when these matters related to the safety of clinical ultrasound. A primary responsibility is to evaluate research reports on biological effects. In addition to the elected AIUM members, this committee includes resource members from federal agencies and external organizations.

Clinical Content Task Force

Reem Abu Rustum, MD, Chair

The Clinical Content Task Force is a group of clinical experts whose mission is to oversee the clinical material that goes on the AIUM website as our educational content. Task force members are responsible for reviewing cases and materials to determine whether they meet quality standards to be posted on the website.

Clinical Standards Committee

Joseph Wax, MD, FAIUM, Chair
John Pellerito, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU, Vice Chair

The Clinical Standards Committee promotes the writing and review of standards and guidelines for sonographic examinations. The committee produces and supports the development of technical bulletins, monographs, and other scientific and informational resources for the AIUM membership and other health care professionals. The composition of the committee may include representation from other AIUM committees and/or organizations, as needed, for developing joint guidelines. Representation has traditionally been from (but not limited to) the Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council, the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG), the American College of Radiology (ACR), and the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (SDMS).

Constitution Committee

Steven R. Goldstein, MD, FAIUM, Chair

The Constitution Committee bears continuing responsibility for resolving internal contradictions in the Constitution and updating the Constitution to fit with proposed practices of the AIUM.

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Ad Hoc Committee

Mark Lockhart, MD, MPH, FAIUM, Chair
Dean Nakomoto, MD, Vice Chair

The Continuing Medical Education (CME) Ad Hoc Committee develops the policies and procedures for the review and approval of AMA PRA Category 1 continuing medical education credits. The committee is responsible for maintaining the procedures and records as required by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to ensure retention of this privilege and authority and is integrated into many other AIUM committees to provide feedback and to enhance and optimize learning by all participants in AIUM educational activities.

Council of Communities

Community and Interest Group Leadership

Communities and interest groups include all AIUM members with an interest in a particular ultrasound application, specialty area, or topic. AIUM members may affiliate with as many communities and interest groups as they choose. The responsibilities of the leadership of the communities and interest groups are to:
  1. Interface with the Annual Convention Committee to
    1. Determine the content and speakers for the special interest sessions;
    2. Select moderators for scientific sessions;
    3. Select individuals to review scientific abstracts;
    4. Encourage scientific abstract and e-poster submissions to the convention.
  2. Promote AIUM membership and participation by individuals interested in the area of ultrasound represented by the community or interest group. Facilitate discussion of issues of interest to practitioners in the field on and at the AIUM annual convention. When appropriate, make AIUM aware of the concerns of these practitioners.
  3. Where appropriate, provide a forum for reviewing and commenting on proposals for official AIUM statements and practice guidelines.

Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Coding Ad Hoc Committee

James Shwayder, MD, JD, FAIUM, Chair

The CPT Coding Ad Hoc Committee assesses and evaluates the relevance of new and revised ultrasound CPT codes to ensure that codes accurately and uniformly describe the medical, surgical, and diagnostic services in all aspects related to ultrasound. This ad hoc committee is responsible for communicating recommendations regarding the codes to the CPT appointing authority.

Editorial Board of the Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine

Levon Nazarian, MD, FAIUM, FACR, Editor-in-Chief
Flemming Forsberg, PhD, FAIUM, Deputy Editor
Wesley Lee, MD, FAIUM, Deputy Editor
Mark Lockhart, MD, MPH, Deputy Editor

The Editorial Board bears the responsibility for preparing, in a timely manner, the editorial content of the official journal for the AIUM, the Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine. The Board encourages member participation and readership by producing a publication of the highest possible scientific quality.

Endowment for Education and Research Task Force

J. Brian Fowlkes, PhD, FAIUM, Chair

The Endowment for Education and Research (EER) Task Force oversees the Endowment for Education and Research Fund.

Finance Committee

J. Brian Fowlkes, PhD, FAIUM, Chair

The purpose of the AIUM Finance Committee is to review details of the annual budget, financial statements, and investments and submit recommendations to the Executive Committee and Board of Governors for approval.

Membership Committee

Salvatore LaRusso, MEd, RDMS, RT(R), FAIUM, Chair

The Membership Committee serves to assist the AIUM and provide feedback and insight on the society's membership recruitment and retention activities. The committee is responsible for the oversight of the AIUM Fellow and Senior member evaluation process.

Technical Standards Committee

Brian Garra, MD, FAIUM, Chair
Shigao Chen, PhD, FAIUM, Vice Chair

The Technical Standards Committee develops, where appropriate, standardized approaches to instrument performance measurements and other aspects of medical ultrasound, including presentation and labeling, phantoms, and nomenclature. The committee provides reviews of documents, manuals, and standards produced by other organizations, government bodies, and individuals, especially as these documents relate to the physics, engineering, performance testing, and clinical use of ultrasound equipment. It also maintains liaisons with other organizations developing standards for ultrasound equipment.

Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council

Bryann Bromley, MD, FAIUM, Chair
David Jones, MD, Vice Chair

The mission of the Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council is to encourage the practice of high quality diagnostic ultrasound. It seeks to maintain a leadership role in addressing concerns for quality ultrasound practice, establish standards for accreditation based on the professional criteria of ultrasound practitioners, recognize ultrasound practices that meet or exceed established minimum criteria, and promote and support continued improvement in diagnostic ultrasound.


© American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine | 14750 Sweitzer Lane, Suite 100 · Laurel, MD 20707 | Phone: 301-498-4100